Show me your Playlist!

One of the many things I love about running is the chance to be out in nature on my own with nothing keeping me company but my favorite tunes. I’m a huge music nerd and would trade in watching TV for listening to my iPod any day. While I’m an alternative/industrial/metal girl at heart, music I listen to on my run is a different story. I learned during my first marathon that it’s not particularly pleasant to have Trent Reznor scream at you when you’re wilting in the humidity and contemplating jumping into the Detroit River to end it all. Since then, my running playlists have been full of fun, upbeat, and danceable tunes that I’d most likely be embarrassed to have play in my car with company. Without further adieu, I present to you my running Playlist, appropriately titled on my iPod as RUNNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1) Running (Adam Lambert)

2) The Walker (Fitz and the Tantrums)

3) Applause (Lady Gaga)

4) Bangarang (Skrillex)

5) The Beautiful People (Marilyn Manson)

6) Brown Sugar (The Rolling Stones)

7) Burn it Down (Linkin Park)

8) Came Back Haunted (Nine Inch Nails)

9) Carried Away (Passion Pit)

10) Closer (Tegan and Sara)

11) Don’t Stop (Color on the Walls) (Foster the People)

12) So Whatcha Want (Beastie Boys)

13) Sure Shot (Beastie Boys)

14) I Got Mine (The Black Keys)

15) Safe and Sound (Capital Cities)

16) Groove is in the Heart (Deee-Lite)

17) Tongue Tied (Grouplove)

18) What’s on your Mind (Pure Energy) (Information Society)

19) Heavy Bells (J. Roddy Walston & The Business)

20) Rock and Roll (Led Zeppelin)

21) The Phoenix (Fall Out Boy)

22) My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Fall Out Boy)

23) My Body (Young the Giant)

24) Coming of Age (Foster the People)

25) Best Friend (Foster the People)

26) Dancing on my Own (Robyn)

27) Roar (Katy Perry)

28) Sexy Bitch (David Guetta feat. Akon)

29) Starships (Nicki Minaj)

30) Stronger (Kelly Clarkston)

31) Birthday (Katy Perry)

32) Fire Woman (The Cult)

33) She Sells Sanctuary (The Cult)

So there you have it. I used to have a much longer list of over 60 songs, but damn you Apple for putting the “edit” and “delete playlist” buttons SO EFFING CLOSE TOGETHER. You can see mixes of pop, classic rock, metal, modern alternative, and 80s New Wave. My two favorites are Groove is in the Heart and Fire Woman; for some reason these particular songs light a fire under my ass and make pain and fatigue disappear.

So tell me readers reader! What’s on your playlist? What songs get your legs and soul moving? What’s the most embarrassing song on your list (mine is Skrillex, no doubt)? Or are you one of those complete weirdos who listen to nothing on a run?

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Show me your Playlist!

  1. We have a decent amount of matches – plus you have at least six I had on my last list. Wound up swapping them out for more EDM stuff. I have to change my list at least monthly or I get bored.

  2. I’m one of those no-music weirdos 😀

  3. milesflyby says:

    I have about six of those on my current list and saw a few that I ought to add. My running playlist is ridiculously long. I basically throw any upbeat, catchy song on there and never seem to take any off the playlist…it just keeps growing. When it comes to the most songs from one artist on the list, Green Day, Something Corporate, Jack’s Mannequin and Foo Fighters are up there. A couple good ones that mention running are “We Come Running” by Youngblood Hawke and “I Just Wanna Run” by The Downtown Fiction.

    For the most part though, I’m a weirdo who doesn’t listen to music unless I’m on the treadmill.

  4. Johnny says:

    I don’t normally run with music. And as of late, I don’t really run, period (trying to fix that, again).
    I did have a playlist once that contained quite a bit of Mindless Self Indulgence to get pumped. Other songs of note are:
    Cake – The Distance
    Beastie Boys – Body Movin’
    Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch – Good Vibrations
    The Crystal Method – Busy Child.

    For some repetitive electro white noise, LCD Soundsystem is always good.

    Oh and I love that you have Fire Woman on your list.

Leave a Reply

