How to Fit Indoor Marathon Training and a Divorce into your Holiday Schedule

When I was a kid I used to joke that I wanted to be a gypsy when I grew up, and as of late, my dream has sort of come true. I don’t get to tell fortunes and travel around Europe in a covered wagon, but I have been bouncing around places to stay in order to avoid conflict. This has made getting ready for Christmas, and my January indoor marathon, next to impossible.

Despite toying with the idea of dropping to the half-marathon (which would have been a smart decision, the type I rarely make), I’ve decided to be stubborn and forge ahead with training for the full Polar Bear Indoor Marathon at Ohio Northern University. Why? With all that’s going on in my life and the robust winter weather, would I subject myself to this torture? I don’t know, I guess I’m trying to prove to myself that I can do it. That I’m not weak. That I won’t fold under stress and adversity.

Let’s not forget that there’s the holidays to prepare for as well. Eventhough ending my marriage was mostly my decision and I know it’s for the best, it still hurts like nothing I’ve ever felt before, and seeing happy Christmas commercials with pretty couples exchanging diamonds just further twists that knife into my fragile heart. There was no tree decorating while watching Christmas movies this year. There was no laughing at the cats for knocking Christmas decorations off of the mantle. I feel as though part of myself is missing this December.

I’ve decided to avoid many family functions and parties this Christmas to avoid the awkward “Where’s your husband?!” questions. Time I’ve taken off of work will be spent mostly alone, training and thinking and preparing for a solo life in the new year. Though most people say I’m crazy, I can’t think of a better way to kick off 2014 than taking a trip to a small town in Ohio with two awesome girlfriends, for the purpose of running 211 laps around an indoor track.

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “How to Fit Indoor Marathon Training and a Divorce into your Holiday Schedule

  1. I ran my first race (a half marathon) months after my marriage ended. It was awesome to have something with a feasible finish line to focus on as my life crumbled around me. Good luck with your training, your race and your new singlehood.

Leave a Reply

