Adrift and at Peace

I know everyone is hanging off the edge of their seats, waiting to know what huge life events have prevented me from writing a new post in almost a month. Calm down dear readers reader, everything is going to be just fine. The truth is nothing much has been happening, just normal everyday same ole’ same ole’.

Well, that’s kind of a lie- August has been a month of discovery in many ways: discovering what I truly believe in, what brings me peace, what makes me the happiest, and that relationships sometimes evolve to the point of ending, as painful as that is to admit (no, I’m not talking about Randy). I’ll spare everyone the details but some hurtful experiences encouraged me to branch out into the world in the form of running clubs. Being a shy introvert, I’ve always been too scared in the past to join a running club, thinking I’m not cool enough or fast enough, or that they would not be welcoming to newcomers. That couldn’t be further from the truth.

I’ve been meeting up with the Your Pace or Mine? running group every week now and it’s been a blast. They push me to run faster and further on the trail and we have great conversation over drinks afterwards. Last week I was in a depressed state and all it took was a run (and beer) with YPOM to lift my spirits. Endorphins+alcohol= a very happy group of people.

Sometimes when life gives you a big dose of “WHAT THE FUCK??” you learn what you’re made of. While certain events in the past month have certainly been upsetting, it forced me out of my comfort zone and into a group of awesome, open-minded runners. I kind of like this big world outside my constricting comfort zone, I may explore it further…

Tagged

Leave a Reply

