Hurt

Wouldn’t you know it, as soon as I start writing about running and sign up for three half marathons in the coming three months, I get injured. I mean, really injured. I was able to run through my shin splints last spring. I could barely even walk with peroneal tendonitis.

How did this happen? I blame my new Vibrams- not the shoe itself, I felt great running in them. Too great, really, since I ran way too much in them and never let my feet truly transition (I’m trying to sound like I know what I’m talking about). Also, I think the switching back-and-forth between my Vibrams and more cushioned Brooks shoes may have aggravated something. My feet never knew what to think. The result of this confusion was peroneal tendonitis.

I happened during a 10.5 mile run on April 7th. At exactly mile 9, my right calf and ankle seized up and I couldn’t move my foot. I stretched my calf out and that helped for about five minutes. At mile 9.5 I decided to swallow my pride and walk the remaining distance to my car. Something was definitely wrong, but I stupidly thought a good night’s rest and plenty of rum would cure what ailed me.

Well, to make a long story short, I spent most of the rest of April sitting on my butt and pouting because I couldn’t run. I’ve been doing some strength training and even made it into the pool for a swim, but nothing feels as good as running. I’m happy to report that things have felt back to normal for the past week now, so I’m going to tempt the gods of running by attempting a short run tonight.

In other news you don’t care about, Randy and I are finally in our NEW HOME! That’s right! Time to buy some mace because it looks like I’ll be running in some sketchy areas. Hey, that could help my speed!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

